Body Theory – North Hollywood Workout…A Rave!

BOTTOM LINE: Great time, great workout, wonderful staff

COST: $15 a class (packages are available)

LOCATION: North Hollywood, CA

My alarm rang out at 7am reminding me that I had quite possibly had a date with death. For months I had been hearing about the amazing workout program called Drenched at Body Theory in North Hollywood. Like many, the older I get the bigger my backside grows…and the child didn’t help. In an attempt to turn back time I have suffered through ridiculous fitness programs that promise to shrink my tush in just 5 minutes. I fall for it every time. To be trite, if it sounds to good to be true, then it probably is.

However, my dear, darling, fantastic workout guru of a friend insisted that this was different and it was actually gonna be fun! I was skeptical because she LOVES to exercise (yes they do exist). I was also completely terrified that I would not know how to do the moves and everyone would point and laugh, so I began running a mental list of excuses, but I came up dry. There really wasn’t one. So I sucked it up and did it. I had to try it out. If not for my large posterior, then for the few people who read this blog and are considering trying this program or one similar to it.

The class is called Drenched and it isn’t aquatic so expect to be covered in sweat by the end; not just your sweat, but also everyone else in the room with you. It is pure cardio and the instructor/owner who I worked out with is Billy Blanks’ (Tae Bow) brother Michael.

PROS:

  1. It was FUN!
  2. I was never pushed to do better, but instead encouraged
  3. Michael walks the room talking to people and not at them through a headset
  4. He knows peoples names
  5. The workout was fun and fast.
  6. I didn’t need to check my watch to see how much longer I had to endure it.
  7. The music was great and not those horrendous fitness mixes I find so excruciating at gyms.
  8. From the front desk to the other exercisers, everyone was kind.

CONS:

  1. A little more space to move, but it wasn’t that bad.
  2. My muscles were worked, so I walked around like an 80 year old the next day. (not really a con, but I had to put something in this section.)

Overall, I loved it! The experience was great and I would definitely do it again. If you are in the North Hollywood area, check it out.

Leave a comment